Skip to content

I saw red.

21 March 2012

Well, it had to happen at some point – I completely lost it last night.

Not with Nathaniel but with Harry, the dog. For the first time ever, Harry decided to chew a plant in the garden. But not just any plant. Oh no. He decided to go for the grapevine that Cat planted last year, completely severing the main vine. Having checked it this morning the stem is so badly chewed there is no chance of splicing it back together. The damage is so near the original graft that it is unlikely to survive.

He knew he’d done wrong the minute I stepped outside as he ran to hide under the trampoline and refused to come out. As a result, I have to buy a new water bowl for outside in the garden as his old one is now in pieces after I threw it at the wall. As I said to a close friend last night, it was the first time in years when I’ve been incandescent with rage – real 100% seeing red rage – and it was frightening. At least Nathaniel wasn’t upset that Daddy was turning into The Hulk as he was more upset about the plant. As always with me, I calm down very quickly and we’re all friends again – even if a little subdued this morning.

I know it’s only a plant but it was Cat’s plant and had lots of memories for me from last summer. I really should put things into perspective – it’s only a plant.

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. 21 March 2012 12:59 pm

    I’m so sorry for your loss. Don’t be too hard on yourself for “losing it.” It happens and it’s very understandable. That plant represented a lot to you. It was so much more than a plant. Luckily our pets don’t know how to hold grudges. Thanks for sharing about something so personally upsetting. My best. Beautiful photo of your wife.

Leave a Reply

